Mr Marcus Onobun was elected as new Speaker

In his stead, the member representing Esan West, Mr Marcus Onobun was elected as new Speaker on Monday during a plenary session which lasted for few minutes.

His impeachment was sequel to a motion moved by the Leader of the House, Mr Henry Okhuarobo (Ikpoba-Okha) and seconded by the member representing Akoko-Edo 1 in the Assembly, Prince Yekini Idaiye.

Thereafter, the member representing Igueben State constituency, Mr Ephraim Aluebhosele, moved a motion to nominate the new Speaker and it was seconded by the member representing Akoko-Edo II State Constituency, Mr Emmanuel Agbaje.

The Deputy Speaker, Mr Roland Asoro who presided over the plenary after the impeachment, put the motion to a voice vote where it enjoyed the support of all the members at plenary.

The new Speaker, Mr. Marcus Onobun upon his election, thanked the members for his election as new Speaker of the house.

He thereafter dissolved all the house standing Committees and relieved all the appointees of the house of their appointments.

Mr Onobun also constituted a three-man Committee to look into financial records of the house under the leadership of the former Speaker and also placed the former speaker under three months suspension to allow for a peaceful transition.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *